Cassette Tape covers

Posted on 2019-10-25 by George McNinch

This collection represents some of the home-made cassette tapes that I made/received/carried around in the ’80s and first half of the ’90s. I got a CD player sometime during college (maybe 1988?) and I basically quit buying commercial cassette tapes at that point. (I recall re-purchasing a fair number of albums on CD that I already owned on cassette).

But cassettes were still great for recording mixes for friends, and for myself. Moreover, I didn’t have a CD player in my car until the mid-to-late 90s. Until then, road trips always involved a bunch of cassettes tapes.

Around 2011 I was organizing stuff in the house; while doing so I came to the realization that I would surely never play my cassette tapes again. I no longer even had a working cassette player (an observation that would have scandalized 18-year-old me). The tapes were all 20+ years old, and many of them were likely failing (e.g. I recall that the glue holding little pads guiding the tape tended to weaken with age and heat, and the pads would fall off….) So I scanned the hand-written covers of tapes that were still around and tossed the tapes. I remember feeling a bit sad about it…

See below for the scans!

img0

img1

img2

img3

img4

img5

img6

img7

img8

img9

img10

img11

img12

img13

img14

img15

img16

img17

img18

img19

img20

img21